Kimi Raikkonen
Kimi Central arrow Race results arrow Massa leads Ferrari 1-2 in Bahrain
Sunday, 18 March 2018
Massa leads Ferrari 1-2 in Bahrain
Sunday, 06 April 2008
Felipe Massa put in a dominant performance to lead home Ferrari team mate Kimi Raikkonen in Sunday's Bahrain Grand Prix.

Raikkonen now heads the drivers' championship!

Previous leader Lewis Hamilton could manage only 13th after running into the rear of Fernando Alonso.

BMW Sauber take charge of the constructors' standings thanks to third and fourth places for Robert Kubica and Nick Heidfeld...  {mos_fb_discuss:1}

Massa instantly shot past front row partner Kubica and into the race lead at the start, with Kovalainen dodging around Hamilton to move up to third. The Finn out-muscled countryman Raikkonen through Turns 1 and 2, but was repassed by the world champion further ahead the opening lap.

Kimi then rapidly caught and passed Kubica for second, driving around the outside of the Pole at Turn 1 on lap three, while Kovalainen lost another place to Heidfeld when he ran wide on the same lap.

Hamilton's bad start had dropped him to 10th, and he was attempting to pass Alonso for ninth when he clipped the back of the Renault as they accelerated out of Turn 2. The McLaren briefly became airborne and lost its front wing, leaving Hamilton down in 18th and a minute behind the leaders after he pitted for repairs.

This tangle was one of several early incidents, with Jenson Button (Honda), Adrian Sutil (Force India) and David Coulthard (Red Bull) all having to pit with damage after a chaotic opening lap. Toro Rosso's Sebastian Vettel sustained broken suspension, while Renault driver Nelson Piquet spun down the order on the second lap. He recovered several positions before retiring with gearbox failure.

At the front, Massa edged away from Raikkonen and established a five-second early lead. Kubica kept Raikkonen under pressure until pitting on lap 17, three laps earlier than Raikkonen, who was the first Ferrari driver to stop.

With Kubica then losing time behind Toyota's Glock, who was running a very long first stint, the Ferraris took control of the middle part of the race. Raikkonen narrowed Massa's advantage to three seconds with a series of fastest laps, but the Brazilian always had enough speed in hand and managed to rebuild his lead again.

By the time the final stops were completed, Massa's lead was back up to seven seconds, while Raikkonen had to focus on the resurgent Kubica, who stopped later than the Ferraris and got back within three seconds of second place. The Finn stayed ahead though, and now leads the championship.

Heidfeld also led several laps with an extremely late final stop, helping him to secure fourth, comfortably ahead of Kovalainen. The McLaren set the fastest lap of the race in the closing stages, but still finished nearly 30 seconds behind the victorious Massa.

Jarno Trulli had a very strong race to sixth for Toyota, pressuring Kovalainen in the middle stages. The Italian was able to pull away from the chasing Mark Webber (Red Bull), who passed Nico Rosberg's Williams for seventh at the first stops.

Glock's strategy allowed him to run as high as third, and he ultimately beat Alonso to ninth as the damaged Renault struggled to hold off Rubens Barrichello in the final laps.

Hamilton had to settle for 13th behind Giancarlo Fisichella's Force India, taking the place with a late move on Williams' Kazuki Nakajima.

Behind Toro Rosso's Sebastien Bourdais and the two Super Aguris, Coulthard finished 18th after a collision with Button. The Honda driver attempted to pass DC as both chased the midfield pack, but rode up over the side of the Red Bull and had to retire. Coulthard managed to rejoin and coax his battered car to the flag.


Pos Driver Team Time

1. Massa Ferrari (B) 1h31:06.970

2. Raikkonen Ferrari (B) + 3.339

3. Kubica BMW Sauber (B) + 4.998

4. Heidfeld BMW Sauber (B) + 8.409

5. Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes (B) + 26.789

6. Trulli Toyota (B) + 41.314

7. Webber Red Bull-Renault (B) + 45.473

8. Rosberg Williams-Toyota (B) + 55.889

9. Glock Toyota (B) + 1:09.500

10. Alonso Renault (B) + 1:17.181

11. Barrichello Honda (B) + 1:17.862

12. Fisichella Force India-Ferrari (B) + 1 lap

13. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes (B) + 1 lap

14. Nakajima Williams-Toyota (B) + 1 lap

15. Bourdais Toro Rosso-Ferrari (B) + 1 lap

16. Davidson Super Aguri-Honda (B) + 1 lap

17. Sato Super Aguri-Honda (B) + 1 lap

18. Coulthard Red Bull-Renault (B) + 1 lap

19. Sutil Force India-Ferrari (B) + 2 laps

Fastest lap: Kovalainen, 1:33.193

Will Kimi beat Alonso in 2013 - 2014 season?
F1 circuits map
Top! Top!