Kimi Raikkonen
Kimi Central arrow Race results arrow Hamilton wins chaotic GP while Kimi finishes 3rd
Sunday, 18 March 2018
Hamilton wins chaotic GP while Kimi finishes 3rd
Sunday, 30 September 2007
ferrari f1 small3Lewis Hamilton moved a major step closer to clinching the drivers' title by winning a
Kimi: "The car was set up for the dry, so it wasn't perfect for the wet."

washed-out Japanese Grand Prix at Fuji. Hamilton moves 12 points ahead of Fernando Alonso after the reigning champion spun out in treacherous conditions.

Heikki Kovalainen took a composed second place for Renault ahead of Kimi Raikkonen. The Finn had to pit early for full wet tires as the two Ferraris were the only 2 cars to start on intermediates...


Track conditions were so wet as the cars made their way to the grid that the 67-lap race was started behind the safety car. Ferrari tried to throw a big gamble by starting Massa on intermediate tyres, but the Brazilian spun off on the first lap. He rejoined and pitted for full wets. Ferrari tried to start Raikkonen on the intermediate tyres too - hoping the track would be dry when the safety car came in, but he too was forced to take on full wets as conditions remained so treacherous on lap three.

The procession behind the safety car continued until the FIA judged conditions to be safe enough to start the racing proper. Ferrari threw another gamble on lap 14 when it looked like the safety car may be out until the end of the race - fuelling up the Finn so that he could rejoin the tail of the field and then pass everyone else while they refuel later in the race. The team replicated the strategy on lap 15 with Felipe Massa - hopeful of scooping up the race win from the back of the field - should the majority of the race be run behind the safety car.

Lewis Hamilton continued to lead Alonso at the front with Heidfeld third, Button fourth, Webber fifth, Vettel sixth, Kubica seventh and Fisichella eighth.

Ferrari's gamble looked less likely to pay off on lap 19 when the safety car pulled into the pits and the race resumed with Alonso right on Hamilton's tail. Wurz lost control of his Williams under braking for turn one and clipped Felipe Massa. The Austrian retired but Massa continued, only to serve a drive-through penalty on the next lap for overtaking under the safety car.

Nick Heidfeld was the big loser in the race re-start, dropping to tenth meanwhile Vettel was up to third in the Toro Rosso ahead of Webber, Button, Fisichella, Kovalainen and Kubica.

Fernando Alonso was the first McLaren to pit on lap 27 and Hamilton was in on the next lap releasing Vettel in the Toro Rosso into the race lead. Hamilton rejoined the race well ahead of Alonso, who hit a train of traffic on his out-lap and also ran wide at one point.

Both McLarens seemed uncomfortable after their pit stops and surprisingly slow as Alonso and Hamilton were struggling to stay on track and losing positions in tangles with other cars.

The championship took a dramatic twist on lap 41 as Alonso lost control of his McLaren on the exit of turn five and smashed into the walls at turn six causing the safety car to be deployed again. Rival Lewis Hamilton was in the lead ahead of Webber and Vettel.

There was more drama behind the safety car on lap 46 when Vettel ran into the back of Mark Webber sending both Red Bull-owned cars out of the race and podium positions.

The race resumed on lap 48 with Hamilton leading Kovalainen, Massa, Coulthard, Fisichella, Heidfeld, Raikkonen and Barrichello.

Lap 58 - Ferrari pitted Felipe Massa from third, allowing Raikkonen to move up to third after having passed David Coulthard. 

Lewis Hamilton went through to secure the win and a major advantage in the drivers' championship with just two races remaining. Heikki Kovalainen drove a composed race to make up nine positions from his grid slot to take second place - a career best with Kimi Raikkonen salvaging third.

David Coulthard scooped up fourth for Red Bull Racing as some consolation for the earlier clash between the Red Bull and Toro Rosso of Webber and Vettel while Fisichella confirmed a good result for Renault in fifth. 

Felipe Massa won a sixth place finish in a major tussle with Robert Kubica on the final lap while in eighth Tonio Liuzzi took Toro Rosso's first point of the season in eighth.

1.  HAMILTON     McLaren       2h00m34.759s
2.  KOVALAINEN   Renault       +8.3s
3.  RAIKKONEN    Ferrari       +9.4s
4.  COULTHARD    Red Bull      +20.2s
5.  FISICHELLA   Renault       +38.8s
6.  MASSA        Ferrari       +49.0s
7.  KUBICA       BMW           +49.2s
8.  LIUZZI       Toro Rosso    +55.6s
9.  SUTIL        Spyker        +60.1s
10. BARRICHELLO  Honda         +88.3s
11. BUTTON       Honda         +1 lap
12. YAMAMOTO     Spyker        +1 lap
13. TRULLI       Toyota        +1 lap
14. HEIDFELD     BMW           +2 laps
15. SATO         Super Aguri   +2 laps
R.  SCHUMACHER   Toyota        +12 laps
R.  DAVIDSON     Super Aguri   +13 laps
R.  ROSBERG      Williams      +18 laps
R.  VETTEL       Toro Rosso    +21 laps
R.  WEBBER       Red Bull      +22 laps
R.  ALONSO       McLaren       +25 laps
R.  WURZ         Williams      +48 laps

Fastest lap: MASSA  1m28.193s (lap 27)

Will Kimi beat Alonso in 2013 - 2014 season?
F1 circuits map
Top! Top!